skip navigation

USWNT to Hold Training Camp in Everett, Washington

02/23/2016, 1:00pm MST
By USAHockey.com

U.S. To Train at XFINITY Arena from March 18-24, Prior to IIHF Women's World Championship

Heading into the 2016 International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship, the U.S. Women's National Team will take part in a pre-tournament camp at XFINITY Arena in Everett, Washington, from March 18-24. A complete on-ice schedule is available here.

The U.S. will practice in Kamloops, British Columbia, before opening the IIHF Women's World Championship against rival Canada at 10:30 p.m. ET on March 28 at the Sandman Centre. The U.S. is the defending champion and has won five of the last six world championships (2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015).

NOTES: The schedule for the 2016 International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship is available here. The roster for the 2016 U.S. Women's National Team that will compete in the 2016 International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship will be announced tomorrow, February 24 ... The team is being selected following the USA Hockey Women's Winter Training Camp that was held December 27, 2015 to January 1, 2016 at Schwan's Super Rink in Blaine, Minnesota ...Reagan Carey (Colorado Springs, Colo.), USA Hockey's director of women's hockey, is the general manager of the 2016 U.S. Women's National Team.


Recent News

Most Popular Articles

2022-23 ATO | WEEK 3

09/16/2022, 6:45am MDT
By USA Hockey Officiating Program

QUESTIONI was a timekeeper at my daughter’s game where the referee disagreed with a "running clock" rule. I was not rude to the ref, however he ejected me from the timekeeper position. The question I have is whether an on-ice official can eject an off-ice official?

ANSWER: The on-ice officials can remove an off-ice official if they feel they are not acting professionally or within the Game Officials’ Code of Conduct of USA Hockey.

 

QUESTION: During a Two-Official System game, the Front Official mistakenly waves off an icing believing because the goalie left the crease then icing is nullified. The Back Official doesn't blow his whistle as he's unsure why an otherwise obvious icing is waved off. The puck never leaves the end-zone, and a goal is scored. Referees convene and decide the icing rule was misinterpreted. The goal is disallowed. Is this correct call?

ANSWER: If the goal is the result of a missed icing call (officials are 100% certain), and the puck never left the end-zone the goal was scored in, and there are no play stoppages between the missed icing and the goal, then the goal should be disallowed.

 

QUESTIONIf a player's jersey number is listed incorrectly on the game-sheet, is there a penalty or even a forfeit of the game if the mistake is found after the game? The player is legally rostered, and listed in the playing line-up. The roster label had wrong jersey number listed.

ANSWER: This type of roster clerical issue must be brought to the local governing body of the game (league, hockey association, tournament committee, etc.) to decide upon. Generally, there are no penalties for small clerical errors as long as the player is listed on the game roster.

 

QUESTION: During a game, a player used the inside of her skate blade to keep the puck under her control (by kicking the puck) and move it ahead. I wondered if that was a legal move? No one else commented on it.

ANSWERRule 627.c in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:

Kicking the puck shall be permitted provided the puck is not kicked by an attacking player and entered the goal either directly or after deflecting off any player including the goalkeeper.

However, the puck may not be played by the so called "kick shot," which combines the use of the leg and foot driving the shaft and blade of the stick and producing a very dangerous shot.”

 

QUESTIONAn incident occurred recently in a game where a player in the offensive zone had their feet pushed forward by a defender positioned behind them, as a result the offensive player lost his balance and while falling clipped the defender in the face with his stick drawing blood. What should the call be?

ANSWERPlayers are always accountable for controlling their stick at all times. Therefore, if a player recklessly endangers an opponent as a result of illegal stick contact (even if accidental) then they must be assessed a major plus game misconduct. However, any illegal action of an opponent that causes the illegal stick contact by the player who recklessly endangers the opponent should be penalized too.

 

The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.

Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter usahockeyrulebook.com into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).

The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.

Grants from the fund will benefit Hispanic girls at the 8U and 10U levels

USHL Teams Gather in Pennsylvania to Open 2022-23 Season

09/22/2022, 1:15pm MDT
By Tom Robinson

League begins regular season Thursday at annual Fall Classic

Tag(s): Home  World Championships